God, this show disgusts me. There was a mini-marathon going on Christmas Day for this show and it was hard to watch (But like a very large mole, I couldn't take my eyes away from the show... sigh... my bad). So managed to get through 3 episodes before they thankfully changed it to another show. I only caught the end of the first episode however the last 2 episodes came way over the top of the first one.
So the first full episode involved some dude Bjorn who called himself a "divo". For those who don't know (and I had no clue until yesterday as well), a divo is a male version of a diva. Ya... I know... Wow.
The ironic thing is that the poor kid had no clue how to dress. Everything he wore was absolutely tacky. According to urban dictionary, a diva is... "A girl or woman with an exaggerated sense of self-importance. requiring a great deal of attention and excessive effort to maintain beauty, style and image." He has the effort part down but the beauty, style and image part is in desparate need of help.
For his super sweet sixteen, since he's a fashion divo, he rented out a mall (I didn't know you could do that) and invited the best looking kids that he and his friends knew to a high fashion runway show and party. The most ironic thing is that he was by and far the most unattractive person amongst everyone invited. I guess it's a case of because you are not, if you hang around people that are, you feel better about yourself. Go figure.
Bjorn's Birthday Gift: 7 Series BMW
The second episode I watched from beginning to end involved a young lady who called herself an "heiress". The most interesting thing about her is that her role model was Paris Hilton and that was affirmed every time she said Paris' trademark comment "juicy". My reaction, no comment.
So her whole angle for her super sweet sixteen was that she was a total ugly duckling when she was a child but now she's coming out. So she did a white party to symbolize the whole "I was an ugly duckling but now I'm a swan"
So the episode was capped off when her desired guest performer Eminem declined the invitation and Luther Vandross showed up instead, she responded by going back in tie and throwing a temper tantrum worthy of 5 - 7 year old. Hahaha, please little girl, you think Eminem would come to your little party. He didn't even show up to the Academy Awards.
I'm glad that she's coming out but my overall thoughts were that no amount of clothing, makeup or physical could cover up her inner ugliness. In the end, she's just a duck.
Her Birthday Present: 5 series BMW
So I guess the lesson learned is that you shouldn't spoil children. Each episode was just riddled with self worship and false confidence. It's hilarious how powerless each of these kids are when the parents attempt to rein them in. The sad thing is that in the end, these children win because the parents cave in. I almost feel sorry for these kids because these parents are essentially planting the seeds for their families to come crashing down because of the totally incapable, spoiled, bratty children who were never taught to respect others or earn their own keep in the world.
The ironic thing is that although the show is about the kids, their big parties, and their over the top gifts, it's really about the parents and the little monstrousities they have raised.
Sunday, December 31, 2006
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
