Sunday, December 31, 2006

TV Guide: MTV's My Super Sweet 16

God, this show disgusts me. There was a mini-marathon going on Christmas Day for this show and it was hard to watch (But like a very large mole, I couldn't take my eyes away from the show... sigh... my bad). So managed to get through 3 episodes before they thankfully changed it to another show. I only caught the end of the first episode however the last 2 episodes came way over the top of the first one.

So the first full episode involved some dude Bjorn who called himself a "divo". For those who don't know (and I had no clue until yesterday as well), a divo is a male version of a diva. Ya... I know... Wow.

The ironic thing is that the poor kid had no clue how to dress. Everything he wore was absolutely tacky. According to urban dictionary, a diva is... "A girl or woman with an exaggerated sense of self-importance. requiring a great deal of attention and excessive effort to maintain beauty, style and image." He has the effort part down but the beauty, style and image part is in desparate need of help.

For his super sweet sixteen, since he's a fashion divo, he rented out a mall (I didn't know you could do that) and invited the best looking kids that he and his friends knew to a high fashion runway show and party. The most ironic thing is that he was by and far the most unattractive person amongst everyone invited. I guess it's a case of because you are not, if you hang around people that are, you feel better about yourself. Go figure.

Bjorn's Birthday Gift: 7 Series BMW

The second episode I watched from beginning to end involved a young lady who called herself an "heiress". The most interesting thing about her is that her role model was Paris Hilton and that was affirmed every time she said Paris' trademark comment "juicy". My reaction, no comment.

So her whole angle for her super sweet sixteen was that she was a total ugly duckling when she was a child but now she's coming out. So she did a white party to symbolize the whole "I was an ugly duckling but now I'm a swan"

So the episode was capped off when her desired guest performer Eminem declined the invitation and Luther Vandross showed up instead, she responded by going back in tie and throwing a temper tantrum worthy of 5 - 7 year old. Hahaha, please little girl, you think Eminem would come to your little party. He didn't even show up to the Academy Awards.

I'm glad that she's coming out but my overall thoughts were that no amount of clothing, makeup or physical could cover up her inner ugliness. In the end, she's just a duck.

Her Birthday Present: 5 series BMW

So I guess the lesson learned is that you shouldn't spoil children. Each episode was just riddled with self worship and false confidence. It's hilarious how powerless each of these kids are when the parents attempt to rein them in. The sad thing is that in the end, these children win because the parents cave in. I almost feel sorry for these kids because these parents are essentially planting the seeds for their families to come crashing down because of the totally incapable, spoiled, bratty children who were never taught to respect others or earn their own keep in the world.

The ironic thing is that although the show is about the kids, their big parties, and their over the top gifts, it's really about the parents and the little monstrousities they have raised.

Thursday, October 26, 2006

A Foodie's Fury: The Tonga Room

As a self-proclaimed foodie, I have to lay the smack down on undeserving restaurants that masquerade themselves to be high end culinary establishments. So today’s recipient of this foodie’s fury is the Tunga Room located in the Fairmont Hotel in San Francisco, California. So how did I end up here in the first place. Well, it was a friend’s birthday and it was recommended to her as a upbeat, fun asian-fusion restaurant. Originally, I have always been weary of restaurants in hotels however Scala’s Bistro and a multitude of Vegas restaurants have tag teamed to help slowly change that opinion.

And all that hard work was lost in one sitting.

So as you enter the Tunga Room in Fairmont, you are welcomed to a very Vegas like setting, where the tables are set up around the lake and everything is decorated in a pirate, swap the poop-deck, décor. There was also a live band in the middle of man made lake with the live band playing old cover songs that set the tone that this would be a fun, kareoke bar level of fun type of place. There seemed to be some promise. They lied to us.

God… where to begin? How about in chronological order.

The drinks were overpriced and over-iced.

The appetizers were mediocre at best. Their Tonga Island PuPu Platter, a mere $19 dollars was an assortment of poorly done hot wings, over-cook ribs, barely edible spring rolls, prawns that live up to their name and over-starched dumplings.

If that wasn’t a killer, the entrée’s were the nail in the coffin. We ordered "The Chef's Special: Tonga's Triple Delicacy" for $26
which was "Shrimp, Beef and Chicken with Broccoli and Straw Mushroom in Black Bean Sauce." Sounds pretty good right? Heh... what it came down to was overpriced and underachieving chinese food that you normally would find in any Joe Chang's restuarant masquerading around as high class asian fusion just because it was served on a nice looking plate. It kills me that even the $5.95 version you get at every other Chinese restuarant is at least 832% better.. For Christ's sake, it was a Chef's specialty... and it sucked... Which leads me to ask, if this was the Chef’s specialty… what does he specdialize in?

Did I mention it was Chinese food!? Chinese food that you find on nearly every corner of American society. Panda Express, Pick-Up Stix, Mr Chau's. But Ragz... didn't you say it was a pirate like Carabbean atmosphere..? Yes, I did. However my suspicions about it being run of the mill Chinese food were confirmed once the fortune cookies came out.

To add insult upon injury, You have to pay $3 a bowl for rice. (Who pays for rice!?) Oh, and I can not fail to mention the kick the nuts when you already on the ground when they give you when they charge you for the entertainment fee that should have been already included in the high price of the crappy food.

Summary: You pay up to 5 times the cost of normal Chinese food.

Random Self Q&A: How the hell do they stay open!? Well, it's location and decor, it looks nice when you first walk in and it's in a well known hotel so the constant circulation of suckers, I mean tourists, keeps it open.

Link: Sorry, I refuse to link anyone to this place. I guess it's my way of making the world a better place.

Friday, September 22, 2006

Musical Notes: The Pussycat Dolls

I recently saw the Pussycat Dolls, an all-female R&B group, in concert opening for the Black Eyed Peas and I have to admit that it was an impressive concert. The Black Eyed Peas were amazing however I had some thoughts to share about the former burlesque dance troupe before handing out a verdict.

What the group pretty much breaks down into is a solo act where Nicole Scherzinger is the main singer who happens to be stuck with a merry band of scantily clad backup singers / dancers / ???ers.

Leading the second tier of talent is Melody Thornton who is Nicole’s pet... excuse me, I mean, lead backup singer who provides powerful, soulful and ultimately insignificant cross melodies to compliment Nicole’s singing in a manner much like Sean “Diddy” Combs (Formerly known as "P-Diddy" who was formerly known before that as "Puffy" who was formerly known as "Puff Daddy") did for the Notorious BIG. Then there are the 3 backup dancers, Kimberly Wyatt, Ashley Roberts, and Jessica Sutta who provide eye candy to the performance through their modern interpretation of burlesque dancing while occasionally chiming at random moments and during the chorus. Finally, there is Carmit Bachar, who seems to add no real dance or singing ability to the group however has the unrivaled ability to raise her leg (right or left... she's an ambi-lifter) up in the air really, really high (See video below).

Random Thought *** Now one would think “What is the point of having Carmit in the group if she technically doesn’t provide any real talent?” It’s pretty obvious that she doesn’t need to be in the troupe however I have run the scenario through my mind multiple times and it’s just not the same without her and her amazing leg raising ability. The Pussycat dolls literally would be like every other female group out there. I liken it to the spoilers they put on domestic sedans or Mariah’s poorly done boob job. All unnecessary but it help sells the product.

In any case, it was a very enjoyable opening act and I look forward to Nicole breaking her Pussycat Doll chains in her solo debut. Cheers.

Here's one of their music videos. Look for Carmit and her leg.

Thursday, August 24, 2006

Random Thoughts: 27 & 28 Are Prime Numbers

My last girlfriend always lamented the fact that she didn't have me when I was 21. She always said that was my prime. I guess so... I was at my physical best at that time.

Recently, I was chatting over IM with my bud Sandy about it and she said "No way, you're in your prime right now silly boy."

It really made me think. So I decided to look into it a bit more and do some research. Here's what I found:

Micheal Jordon wasn't in his prime until he was 27
Bill Gates made his first billion around 27-28 with Microsoft
Kobe Bryant scored 81 when he was 28

The list goes on and on...

So a couple of weeks ago, I was having lunch with Cathy and we were talking about our lives and after I said my peace, she just had the grin and nod going on and it came up again. To quote her, "Life must be really nice for you right now, Enjoy it John. You're in your prime." It made me do a double take because it brought me back to what Sandy said to me.

So I asked Cathy, "How do you figure?"

She said, "Well, you're at a point where you have worked a little bit so it's not so hard for you to find a job and you've also saved up some so you have financial freedom to do whatever you want. Also, your established but at the same time you have direction and you still have a challenge. It's a great place to be."

I took all of it to heart.

For the last year, I was in the mindset that I'm getting up there in the years and I didn't have much time before I became the old guy in the club. But all this really started to sink in so I started working out again and it all just kinda turned from there.

What I noticed now is that my body is a lot stronger now and my metabolism isn't crazy anymore. I can hold more weight naturally without all the crap I used to take (No, never any steroids). And although it sounds a little self-indulgent, it really helped me realize that your prime isn't just the physical. I'm also in the best spiritual & mental health of my life. I have a few years under my belt and I just get things now. I know how to treat people and I know how to balance my life. I have the strength to say "no". It's everything.

Yes, I have a long ways to go. But isn't it great that you have direction and something to work for? And yes, there are many aspects of life I haven't even touched upon yet like being a father or a husband. But isn't it wonderful that I know that I'm ready for those challenges. So yes, there still is a lot to be done. But please don't forget... YES, I'm having the time of my life.

Thursday, August 10, 2006

Birthday Blessings

Hey everybody,

Just really quick, I’m totally low key about my b-day. It truly isn’t a big deal to me. I never have asked for anything but the non-stop IMs, the emails, the little notes and the phone calls from 12:00 am to 11:59pm just put me somewhere else.

The gifts, the cake, the little get together and just everybody showing up… I was totally surprised. Yes, I’m somewhere else right now.

With the deepest gratitude,
JT

Tuesday, August 01, 2006

Random Thoughts: Sneaker Culture & Shoe Racism

I love all things hip-hop. I love watching rap-battles, and b-boys breakin' n poppin' it off on youtube. I love the diversity that hip-hop music brings and the fact that it's able to break so many cultural boundries in the search for the next hot beat. Two weekends ago, I was able to be part one of it's sub-cultures that surrounds customized sneakers or in sneaker-head (a shoe lover) terms, "kicks".

My buddy James was in a finals for the nation's best shoe customizer and he was the regional representative for Los Angeles. That alone to me was just incredible but to be going head to head with the nation's finest just makes your appreciate your friends and what they have and are accomplishing that much more. In any case, the competition was being run throughout the day and finally at night... the party (along with the ridicule) began.

Being just an outside spectator, I quickly realized that I didn't belong at this party. Yes, there were people of all ages, races and quality of life however they all had one thing in common. Nice ass shoes. Guess who didn't belong?

The night quickly turned sour as people would throw me dirty looks as I was walking through the party. Actually, it was more like they would first look at me, smile and then look down at my plain white, torn and tattered shoes and they all just shook their heads. Each mini trial was completed as they looked up and visually pummeled me with their looks of disdain and disapproval. It was as if my presence was bringing down the quality of their event. Step and repeat.

There were a few other outcasts just like myself at the party and we all found ourselves in the darkest corner all huddled together like the lepers that we were. No words were said... just envious stares at the shoes others were wearing. It was a total David Copperfield moment.

OK... so in all honesty, it wasn't that bad. But I do have to admit, I did feel like I showed up with no pants (or in this case, no shoes) to the party. It was a killer time but next year when this rolls around, I'll be sporting a pair of James See Specials and then I shall be able to throw looks of disdain and disapproval behind my wanna-be shoe lover facade.

Here are some of the hot kicks that were at the competition and some pics from the event. Oh and don't forget, if you don't have a pair hot kicks to sport at least keep what you have clean. ~Peace.



Saturday, July 22, 2006

Farewell Mr. Sanborn








Dear Mr. Sanborn,

When I first met you, my first impression of you was that you talk too much. Now that you are leaving, I still think you talk too much. The difference now is that I know how to listen to you. And besides the occasional meeting that you walk into knowing nothing about, there is a great message that you always tried to communicate. I'm thankful and blessed to have heard it.

So what is it that I heard you ask? Well, the first is actually more what you did rather than what you said. You empowered people through your faith and your trust. I have grown so much because you put me in a position where I had to be more than I was. I truly hope my performance was at the very least, satisfactory.

You also made me realize the importance of being to paint a story through presentation. Your words, your incredible knowledge and how cultured you are always made everyone and everything more than what it was. I will always be in awe of your conversational prowess and will strive to be more like that. If I'm lucky, maybe I'll be half as articulate as you.

Finally, the dedication you had to the company, the project and especially the people, and how you always took the road less traveled in hopes of bringing them all together, is truly awesome. I read a long time ago that "if you try to please everybody, you will please nobody." Working with you, I have to make an adjustment to that quote:

Do everything in your power to bring everyone together, and if things aren't perfect in the end, rest easy knowing that you nearly accomplished the impossible.

With deepest gratitude,
John L. Tso

Thursday, July 20, 2006

Ragz 2 Richez: Justin Lo

We all used to be nobodies. Maybe we still are. Enter Justin Lo (or J-Lo as we used to fondly call him). just a GUI (graphic user interface) designer at Yahoo! who played bball with us on the weekdays and got piss drunk with us on the weekends. Like all of us, he had his dreams and one day, he just got up and left to go back to Hong Kong to be in the music industry.

Two of my old Yahoo! buddies, Chew and Kwokker, recently went to Hong Kong and when they got there, they looked up at the billboards, the magazines and the TV and just looked at each other with the same question on their minds... is that Justin? Ya... that's J-Lo, the biggest pop star in Hong Kong right now. He making movies, endorsing stuff and most importantly, living.

I love stories like this because it inspires you to be better. It rekindles the fire that life so cruelly stamped out over the years. And Just maybe, it might give you the strength to follow your heart and chase your dreams again.

Forget the reality checks, fear of disapproval, and the possibility of failure. Rather, ask yourself, are you really living if you are living it in fear? If anything... fear mediocrity. Fear not reaching your potential. Fear the thought that you are wasting your life.

BTW, if you are wondering, this is what living looks like J-Lo Style:

Tuesday, July 18, 2006

Singing in the Rain

At any time from around 8:30am you can find me on the road just singing it up on 680 on my way to work. I sing at my cube. I sing in the shower, I pretty much sing and dance everywhere. I love it. It makes me feel better about life. Now my roommate thinks i'm an ok singer and unfortunately I have to agree even though I get all defensive about it. Which is why I think American Idol is so believable because the next moment, I'm trying to sing to prove to him I can. Ok, ok, so I'll never make a dime from singing, but, sometimes and at least for a few songs, I'd like to think I can hang.

Now you won't ever find me on American Idol. Mainly because I know what real singers sound like and I don't sound like them. The control, pitch and power that these people possess when it comes to their voices is just absolutely amazing. So why sing if I'm just mediocre? Why sing if my roommate feels dirty everytime I playfully serenade him. Why not, practice Chinese or Spanish in the car when I'm driving to work? Why not recite famous speeches when I'm cooking or showering? Well, speeches are boring and albiet, practicing another language would most certainly make me feel much more accomplished, singing just makes me feel good. And if that isn't reason enough, I realized another last night.

A friend was feeling a little bummed out yesterday and she catches me singing in the webcam all the time so she asked me to sing to her. So I sang a little for her. God, I was nervous but I managed to get through it and afterwards... I felt terribly embarrased. But she loved it.

What I realized was this: I would do anything for my friends and if embarrassing my ass makes them feel better just a little better, then I'll pretend that I'm Brian Mcknight.

Thursday, July 13, 2006

Random Thoughts: New Movie Roles

There are tons of actors who play niche roles. John Corbett has the perfect boyfriend role pretty much locked up. Matthew Perry has the best friend that could be possibly gay role nailed. And Will Smith has got the black guy thing going on.

Enter James Marsden or perhaps better known as Cyclops from the X-Men trilogy. He's carved out quite a nice spot for himself in the movie world and he and only he can pull it off. It's the really-good-guy-who-loses-his-hot-babe-to-a-superhero-role and he is just milking it. I mean, after his performances across the X-Men trilogy as Cyclops, Jean Grey's boyfriend, and just recently in Superman as Lois Lane's fianc'ee, I'm convinced that no one else but him can pull it off.

After getting screwed over by Wolverine and then by Superman, you really can't have another guy just step in. At this point, you look forward to him getting screwed over and over again in a way that only he can do. You know, in the "Wow, this is a total suprise to me because I've been so good to you but I understand" kind of way. I'm totally looking forward to him losing his girl in the future installments of Batman, Spiderman and Catwoman now that DC Comics has made her a lesbian. That last one would be off the hook.

Here are some other uber-niche roles that I've identified:
- Asian-guy-who-doesn't-know-kung-fu-role-and-speaks-english-perfectly-role
- Really-good-girl-friend-who-does-nothing-wrong-but-still-gets-dumped-for-the-sassy-unpredictable-girl-who-makes-the-boyfriend-feel-alive-role
- Guy-who-makes-a-really-good-first-impression-at-the-beginning-of-the-movie-but-dies-within-the-first-ten-minutes-role

Wednesday, July 12, 2006

Random Thoughts: Sixty-Six Percent

I was having a conversation with a friend and the subject of passion in a relationship came up (or rather the lack of). It came up that all marriages end up being more like life partnerships and less about the romance. OK, so I agree with the life partnership thing. But I have to strongly disagree with the no romance (less prevalent romance) part.

For me, I can not marry someone who isn’t the zest of my life. I can not live without moments where I’m just hanging out with the woman of my life and the next moment we’re all over each other. How did it happen..? Who knows? Who cares? But to have the x-factor missing in my marriage is something I can not live without. What’s the point of getting married if there isn’t any passion? I mean, it’s only one of three things that are exclusive to the sacred union.

Building a home, building a family and romance are the three things that are exclusive to marriage. Everything else you can get elsewhere. And to tell me that I’m going to be missing one-third of what make’s my marriage so wonderful is something that I can't live with. You're pretty much saying that my relationship is 66% of what it could be.

Fuck that.

Saturday, July 08, 2006

Life Matters: Fighting for Life



My pastor says that "death is merely the absence of life." I have moments of this living sensation here and there however I do have to admit, I feel dead much more often now. The breakup has left me feeling empty and I hate this floating sensation. Like, I'm in limbo.

I play some bball in the GrX league now and our last game of the season was an important one. If we win, we go to the playoffs. If we lose, end of the season. I'll be the first to admit that I've been playing mediocre for most of the season. Getting used to the refs and getting my wind back has been a season long ordeal. I've had moments of brilliance here and there but there were short lived and I've yet to put my stamp on any game.

Well, that all changed. Not because I played incredible or anything but for something else. The teams were allowed to bring on walk-ons today and our team picked up Eugene Son who can absolutely stroke the ball and the other team brought on a black dude who looked solid. The game starts are we get off to a big lead right away. My scoring totally has picked up recently however I have to admit, having Eugene on the team totally stretches the court. The bottomline is that it was a lot easier to get to the rim. In any case, with Eugene helping with the offensive load, I was totally able to do what I do best which is defending and rebounding. I got every big rebound and pretty much shutdown my man. I usually get to guard the other teams best player so it's really fun to see how their frustration manifests.

In this case, it ended up with me and the black guy being thrown outta the game. We were up by 8 (we were up by 15 earlier) and the other team was making a comeback. There was a key point in the 3rd quarter where the other team's main scorer put up a three and the black guy and I go up and come down with it. He fouls me as I dribble out and he goes all buck wild on the ref saying how I've been fouling him all game. He points at me and starts going off how I've been throwing "bows and grabbing the whole game. I just look at him and say, "I don't know what you are talking about man, but the only thing I know is that we both went up with the ball and you didn't come down with it." It was like that all game.

He then turns and says if I "throw another "bow" that I'm "going to get hurt."

I don't let anyone push me around so I got up in his face and told him that to "stop crying" and that I've been "out-balling him all game."

A couple of more comments were exchanged and the ref blows his whistle and points and him and me and throws us out of the game for the rest of the 3rd quarter. It was awesome.

I haven't had a rush like that in ages. Just the raw emotion coming out and having that release that is only allowed in a competitive setting like sports is just incredible. Outbursts like that are just not allowed in the workplace, home or social setting. It isn't appropiate. Technically, it isn't in sports as well but we all know better. Just like in life, you have to fight for your position or the other team is just going to walk all over you. At that point of the game, the other team was making a run. If I allowed him to get the mental edge on me, we might have lost.

The bottomline was that the result was the other team's best player was taken out of the game for the quarter and never was the same again.

All my friends were talking about it post game. They've never seen that side of me before. Cliff, Kristy, Christine, Sam, Alex, Joyce, Big Shane, Iris, Cynthia and everyone else who knew me looked at me differently. It's amazing how much respect you get when you show a little passion. I guess it's becoming more and more rare now a days in this politically correct, keep your emotions in check, let's compromise on everything world.

It's been 2 weeks after the game now and I'm still buzzing on it. I know it won't last forever so that's why I'm writing about it. Ya gotta save what brings you life because as we all know, we are not always alive.

Oh and if you are wondering. My final stats: 14 points, 13 rebounds, 4 assists... and 1 ejection